Salesforce Summer’12 release notes

Salesforce is getting ready with Summer’12 release notes, are you ready?

Here are the pre-release notes, seems to be it takes couple more days to get the full release notes

Updated Summer’12 Release Notes

Signup for Pre-release

Here are some quick highlights as of today

  • Chatter files are included in data export and the file size has been increased from 128MB to 512 MB
  • Desktop Notifications for Incoming Chats in Live Agent
  • Custom App Components for the Service Cloud Console
  • Customize a Flow’s User Interface with Visualforce
  • Enable SMS-based Identity Confirmation
  • Separate Organization-Wide Defaults for External Users (Pilot)
  • SOQL OFFSET—GA
  • Allow Reparenting Option in Master-Detail Relationship Definitions
  • New Object Limits Page for Standard & Custom Objects

Here are the sandbox preview instructions for Summer’12

This entry was posted in Apex, salesforce, Salesforce Tips & Tricks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Salesforce Summer’12 release notes

  1. Nazeer Ahamed says:

    Good to know Srini, for me this is first source of this information

    • Srini says:

      Thank you Nazeer 🙂

    • Sumanth says:

      Hi Srini Good to see about summer 12 , Can you also post us steps taken while
      ” REFRESHING A SANDBOX ” with your experience.
      WHat are the steps taken, what is that we have to do before we refresh sandbox,

      • Srini says:

        Thank you Sumanth, refreshing sandbox is really varies based upon the customer.
        Here are some quick steps what I remember
        1. Send out notification to respected teams such as developers, client team, testing team
        2. Take your complete backup of existing sandbox using eclipse, ant tool or third party tools
        3. Start refresh your sandbox by logging into production
        4. Send out another reminder to teams
        5. Activate the sandbox
        6. Mask your email fields in contacts, leads, any other custom objects
        7. There might be a secure data, if there are any object(s) then make sure you delete or archive them into your local database.
        8. If there are any hard-coded urls then make sure you update them with the respective ids (nice to document this)
        9. Activate/create new users in the new sandbox
        10. Send out an email communication to all the groups
        11. Your development team can update their code with the latest backed out code

        Hope this helps 🙂

      • Sumanth says:

        Thanks a lot Srini, I will make point of them 🙂

  2. Srikanth Kodisana says:

    This is Super Srini…:)

  3. thomas.w.finnegan@accenture.com says:

    When is the summer ’12 release scheduled for?

    • Srini says:

      Normally they release Spring in February, Summer in June and Winter in November. These are tentative dates, for accurate dates we need to wait till we hear from salesforce, hope this helps 🙂

  4. Marc says:

    Does anyone kept a copy of the release notes? It seems the link doesn’t work anymore. Thanks for posting!

  5. Marc says:

    Hi Srini,
    cool, thanks. Could you give me a hint where to find your email?
    I heard in the cloud focus weekly podcast that the RN leaked and where not supposed to be public.
    Thanks
    Marc

  6. Mark E Bruso says:

    Can you please send me a copy too? mark.bruso@spacecoastcrm.com. Thanks, Mark Bruso.

  7. Guha says:

    Could you send me a copy as well please

    Thanks.
    Guha

  8. JP Mon says:

    Will you please send me the pdf as well?

  9. James says:

    Hi Srini – sorry to ask, but please could I have a copy as well? Salesforce appears to have taken them down.

    Thanks,
    James

  10. Maria B says:

    Can I get a copy as well please?

  11. Sanjeev says:

    Hi Srini, Thanks for your notes. Can i get a copy too please?
    Thanks

  12. Neil Procter says:

    Can you please send me a copy Srini?

  13. Tim Yarosh says:

    Could you please email me a copy?

  14. Chappy says:

    Can you please send a copy to chappy@fredvisions.com as well.

    Thanks.

  15. Jesse says:

    Can you shoot it my way as well? Thanks!!!

  16. Bronco Billyo says:

    Can you please send me a copy Srini? Thanks!

  17. Dear Srini,
    I would be very thankful if you could send me a copy or the pre-release notes as well!
    Cheers,
    Niels
    nchristensen@flightforce.aero

  18. Suresh says:

    Hi Srini, Thanks fo notes, Can I also have a copy of the notes.

  19. Anna Lou says:

    Hi, me too please?

  20. semitias says:

    Hi Srini,

    would due great if you could send me that as well, thanks!!!

  21. Steph says:

    hi can you send me a copy too please? many thanks

  22. Luke says:

    Hi Srini, I find myself reading your blog quite often! Great stuff.

    Reckon I could also pinch a copy of the release notes.
    Thanks!

  23. Steven Brookes says:

    Can I have a copy too 🙂

  24. Srini, Could you send me a copy too? Thanks! Monique

  25. BJ Jones says:

    Really appreciate you sharing this with us Srini. Can you send me a copy as well please?

  26. Srini says:

    Hello All,

    I have updated the post with the release notes what I have, please download it from there.

    Thanks
    Srini

  27. Just found this set of release notes. It has a little more than the one Srini sent me

    Click to access salesforce_summer12_release_notes.pdf

  28. Manish says:

    Can you please send me the document.
    Thanks much

  29. Ashwath says:

    Thanks Srini… cool

  30. Srini, Release notes updated as of Apr 23rd. FYI

  31. For the novice, the first thing you need to understand is what the term “Digital Single Lens Reflex” means.
    Samsung M620 Black mobile is just big enough to display four icons side by side and measures only 1.
    Whenever you rent a book from them, they plant a tree to
    show the benefits of renting books.

  32. monsoon says:

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours lately, but I never discovered any
    attention-grabbing article like yours. It’s lovely value sufficient for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  33. Hello i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this article i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible post.

  34. While waiting for help, the homeowner may call their insurance provider to inform them of the problem and inquire if it’s part of the coverage. If you find that the area immediately around your house is very damp, you can add a gravel and limestone border, which will help with drainage. The irritants in the home that can trigger asthma are a lot; cigarette smoke, perfumes, aerosol sprays, fumes from cleaning products and paints.

  35. Nice Information you have to share.

Leave a comment